Thursday, March 07, 2013

List of Cardinals who have celebrated or assisted at the Latin Mass

Cardinal Albert Malcolm Ranjith Patabendige Don , born in 1947, 2005-2009 Secretary of the Congregation for Divine Worship and the Discipline of the Sacraments, Archbishop of Colombo, Cardinal since 2010

Cardinal Keith Michael Patrick O'Brien , born in 1938, former Archbishop of Saint Andrews and Edinburgh and Primate of Scotland, Cardinal since 2003

Cardinal Franc Rode , Lazarist, born in 1934, former Archbishop of Ljubljana, em. Prefect of the Congregation for Institutes of Consecrated Life and Societies of Apostolic Life, Cardinal since 2006

Cardinal John Tong Hon, born in 1939, Bishop of Hong Kong, Cardinal since 2012

Cardinal Antonio Cañizares Llovera , born in 1945, former Archbishop of Toledo and Primate of Spain, Prefect of the Congregation for Divine Worship and the Discipline of the Sacraments, Cardinal since 2006

Cardinal Lluís Martínez Sistach, born in 1937, the Archbishop of Barcelona, ​​Cardinal since 2007

Cardinal Raymond Leo Burke , born in 1948, former Archbishop of Saint Louis, Prefect of the Apostolic Signatura, Cardinal since 2010

Cardinal Francis Eugene George , Oblate of the Immaculate Virgin Mary, born in 1937, Archbishop of Chicago, Cardinal since 1998

Cardinal William Joseph Levada , born in 1936, former Archbishop of San Francisco, em. Prefect of the CDF, Cardinal since 2006

Cardinal Sean Patrick  O'Malley , Capuchin, born in 1947, Archbishop of Boston, Cardinal since 2006

Cardinal Donald William Wuerl, born in 1940, the Archbishop of Washington, Cardinal since 2010

Cardinal Philippe Xavier Ignace Cardinal Barbarin , born in 1950, Archbishop of Lyon and Primate of the Gauls, Cardinal since 2003

Cardinal Jean-Pierre Ricard , born in 1944, Archbishop of Bordeaux, Cardinal since 2006

Cardinal André Armand Vingt-Trois , born in 1942, Archbishop of Paris, and Primate of France, Cardinal from 2007

Cardinal Ennio Cardinal Antonelli , born in 1936, former Archbishop of Florence, former President of the Pontifical Council for the Family, Cardinal since 2003

Cardinal Angelo Bagnasco , born in 1943, Archbishop of Genoa, Cardinal since 2007

Cardinal Carlo Caffarra , born in 1938, Archbishop of Bologna, Cardinal since 2006

Cardinal Velasio  De Paolis was born in 1935, the Congregation of the Missionaries of St. Charles Borromeo, former Prefect for the Economic Affairs of the Holy See, Cardinal since 2010

Cardinal Angelo Scola , born in 1941, former Patriarch of Venice, Archbishop of Milan, Cardinal since 2003

Cardinal Juan Sandoval Iñiguez , born in 1933, former Archbishop of Gudalajara, Cardinal since 1994

Cardinal Stanislaw Dziwisz , born in 1939, Archbishop of Krakow, Cardinal since 2006

Cardinal Kazimierz Nycz , born in 1950, Archbishop of Warsaw, Cardinal since 2010

All Cardinal Electors apart from Cardinal O'Brien, who has absented himself in scandal.  The others have no excuse for not celebrating the Extraordinary Form after the Motu Proprio.   While not celebrating Cardinal Ouellet and Cardinal Dolan have properly implemented the Pope's document.

The failure of the Pope Emeritus to celebrate publically the Latin Mass, which he did as a Cardinal, is more unfinished business of the last Papacy.  


No comments: