Wednesday, December 17, 2014

Where once there was Blessed Charlemage, we now have the graceless Schulz


European Parliament President Martin Schulz receives 2015 Charlemagne Prize of Aachen, Schulz is acknowledged in Charlemagne's city as an "outstanding representative of the revival of European democracy".

Aachen (Catholic news). Martin Schulz who has his roots in the Aachen region (born in Eschweiler, living in Wuerselen) receives the Charlemagne Prize 2015. Schulz was an outstanding representative for the revival of European democracy, it said in the grounds given by the Charlemagne Prize Board on Saturday in the imperial city of Aachen. As a pioneer, he has rendered outstanding services to the strengthening of the parliament, parliamentary scrutiny and democratic legitimacy. He'll take the concerns of citizens seriously and so strengthens the identification of the population with Europe. "A great honor. Coming from Aachen this prize has a very special meaning, "Martin Schulz tweeted after the announcement of his name by the Board of the Charlemagne Prize.

Charlemagne Prize of Aachen: most prestigious award for services to Europe 

The International Charlemagne Prize of Aachen has been awarded for outstanding contribution to European integration since 1950. The oldest and most prestigious award is awarded for the people or institutions who have rendered outstanding services to Europe and European integration. Traditionally it is awarded on Ascension Day in the historic Coronation Hall of Aachen City Hall, the (aula regia) which is built on the foundations of the former King's Hall of Aachen Palace. The award is named after Charles the Great (747 / 748-814). His empire extended over much of western Europe. Charles led a Europe of unified laws and currency and is often seen as the first pioneers of a united Europe. The 1200th anniversary of his death was celebrated this year in Aachen and Europe. 

 Patrons of the Charlemagne Prize
Patrons of the International Charlemagne Prize of Aachen SM the King of the Belgians Philippe, S. M. King Philip VI. of Spain, S.K.H. Grand Duke Henri of Luxembourg,, S. E. the President of the Republic of Austria, Dr. Heinz Fischer and Federal President Joachim Gauck.

Pope John Paul II. Was a prize winner
The first winner in 1950 was the founder of the Pan-European idea, Count Richard Coudenhove-Kalergi. Later, the Charlemagne Prize went among others to the first Chancellor Konrad Adenauer (1954), the then US President Bill Clinton (2000), the euro as a currency (2002) and German Chancellor, Angela Merkel (2008) This year, European Council President Herman Van Rompuy received it. In 2004, Pope John Paul II received it. The prestigious prize was handed over because of his illness not in Aachen, but in Rome. 

 International Charlemagne Prize of Aachen. Homepage



No comments: